Best Thing I Made–Fall Edition

Standard

I’ll be honest, I haven’t been cooking very much and when I have it hasn’t been to try new recipes. It’s a shame really and I’m endeavoring to cook or bake one new meal/dish a week now. I’d call it a New Year’s resolution but then I’d just be destined to fail. 🙂

So for the Fall edition, I’m posting a modified recipe of beef stew I’ve made many times.

Hearty Beef Stew (adapted from Slow Cooker Beef Stew I on allrecipes.com)

Ingredients:

–3 lbs beef stew meat, cut into 1 inch cubes

1/4 c. all-purpose flour

–1 t. celery salt

–1/2 t. black pepper

–1 packet of beef stew seasoning

–3 cloves of garlic, minced

–1 bay leaf

–1 T. paprika

–1 t. Worcestershire sauce

–1 t. liquid smoke

–1 yellow onion, chopped

–1 c. baby carrots

–4 Yukon gold potatoes, cubed

–2 c. beef stock

Directions:

In a bowl (or a ziplock bag), add the flour, celery salt, pepper, paprika, stew seasoning packet. Stir (or shake if using a sealed ziplock bag) to combine. Add meat and coat with the flour mixture until each piece is coated.

Beef coated

Place meat and any loose flour mixture in slow cooker. Add potatoes, onions, and carrots. Stir to combine.

mixed up

Add remaining ingredients. Cover and cook on low for 10-12 hours (or High for 4-6 hours which is what I did).

I took some prep photos but forgot to take a photo of the finished dish! 😦

Leave a Reply

