September Writing Roundup!

Standard

writing

I’ve been much more productive over the last four weeks and feel in control over my writing schedule. I’ve thinned out my social calendar again to make room for my writing and feel positive about my fall goals.  The next four weeks will be a true test of my ability to stay focused because I want to finish The Elephant Hotel by Christmas.  I’m a little behind yet I still have a chance to make it happen.  Yesterday, I went for a run and it really helped open up my creative process and unleash some ideas.  When I wrote my first novel I would often go for a jog before I sat down to write a new chapter because I find it helps me focus and sharpens what I want to convey. I don’t even have to be blocked to experience a surge of creativity though running definitely works when I’m feeling a bit stunted and frustrated.  In other words, the next four weeks will be all about more running and more writing!

What I’ve accomplished since August:

 –Completed The Elephant Hotel chapter 2 rough draft, and outlined the entire plot

–Reworked the synopsis and query for The Fly Tower and sent out to 7 more agents

 –Wrote the intergalactic bounty hunter story and have already finished two rounds of revisions.

Goals for the next 4 weeks:

–Draft The Elephant Hotel chapters 3-7 (more if I have time)

 –Research more agents

 –Revise and polish bounty hunter story story.  Submit by 9/30 

“The greatest part of a writer’s time is spent in reading, in order to write; a man will turn over half a library to make one book.”—Samuel Johnson

Leave a Reply

