Writing Roundup!

Standard

Welcome to my first writing roundup!

I started this blog over a year ago, and have been pretty sporadic in keeping my readers informed about my overall progress. So, I will now post an update every month on the 15th. Before you begin reading, please enjoy the beautiful alternative 1880s map of North America designed for The Fly Tower world.

newStates_060414half

 

What I’ve accomplished recently:

 –Submitted queries for my manuscript, The Fly Tower, to ten agents

–Received two rejections on query alone; received one request for a  partial, but later the agent declined to request the full manuscript; haven’t heard back from the remaining seven agents though it’s still within the timelines listed on their websites about turnaround

Surprisingly I’ve been pretty calm and non-obsessive so far.  The rejected queries didn’t even really faze me;  I expected some rejections.  Though, yes, of course, I was disappointed when the one agent sent back the rejection after reading the partial…it was a bummer of a day.  But I had to brush it aside because I need to stay focused and positive, and this is only the beginning stage.

–Plotted and outlined the first two chapters of the second book in the Consortium Chronicles series, tentatively entitled The Elephant Hotel, and wrote about half of the first chapter

 –Plotted a new YA book about a far-flung future where AIs have wiped out humanity, then decades later, decide to clone a human girl from recovered human DNA to learn more about the race they terminated from existence. Story will be told from the girl’s POI and will pick up around the moment she discovers that not only are the parents who raised her really AIs but she is the only human left. Obviously there are deeper intrigues and twists but that’s all I want to say about this one for the moment.

 –Plotted an intergalactic bounty hunter short story for an upcoming anthology currently accepting submissions

Goals for July/August:

 –Complete The Elephant Hotel chapters 1 and 2 rough drafts in July and 4-5 more chapters in August

 –Rework the synopsis and query for The Fly Tower, follow up with any agents as necessary, and send queries to ten additional agents

 –Draft the intergalactic bounty hunter short story

–Actually meet with my writing group in August…I had scheduling conflicts in June and July.

That’s all for now…I’ll be back in August with what I accomplished (or didn’t).

Leave a Reply

